Saturday, May 19, 2012

7 Responses to “I received an emai from Yahoo/Hotmail Lottery Promo saying my email has won prize of the year. Is this a scam?”

  1. germinate.hate says:

    Yes, this is called a Nigerian e-mail scam. It is a scam and they want you to give your credit card info to pay the initial payment before you get your “prize.” In reality, they will empty your bank account.

  2. Edd e says:

    It’s a scam thousands of these deceptive emails are sent every day there used to commit identity theft, or try to get you to send money. DO NOT send any bank/personal details click the link below to see what yahoo say about this.
    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/mail/original/abuse/abuse-63.html

    You can report this with the mail abuse form below.
    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/mail/original/abuse.html
    To report a phishing attempt with the form below.
    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/security/forms/phishing.html
    Or you can forward a phishing attempt email to the address below.
    phishing@cc.yahoo-inc.com.

  3. lokpal007 says:

    it may be a spam!!!
    go to the website or email them what they specified but if they ask u your social security no in advance or any of your personal details prior to sending you a copy of check then it surely is a spam.

    You should see on their website if there is some information in fine prints!!!
    coz i had some google jobs spam but on their website it was written in fine prints that Google has nothing to do with it!!!
    be careful man It is gonna be a spam!! otherwise congrats you may be the next millionare

  4. cknight1317 says:

    That is a complete scam. If you ever get an E-mail in the future that says anything about sending money to Africa or anything to do with Africa, just delete it. Its called the Nigeria E-mail scam.

    It gets you to send money or something to Africa where your supposedly suppose to get more money or something, but every time the most you’ll get is with these humerous scammers who instead send you a T-Shirt that says “I sent my money to Africa/Nigera and only got this.” Although I also hear you can buy those…

    Anyways its a well-known scam, so dont do it. Like I said, if you ever get an suspicious E-mail that has anything to do with Africa, just delete it.

  5. lucee says:

    Oooooh, sorry about that, your payment approval was sent to Africa. If you will only pay us umpty dollars, or pounds, or francs, or whatever, we’ll get it straightened out for you. Yeah, right. And I’m going to be dancing with Tom Hanks on Dancing with the Stars next week! Spam is spam – it’s unsolicited email that you never should have opened. You haven’t won a prize because the Yahoo/Hotmail Lottery doesn’t exist.

  6. brian2007 says:

    I say certainly on both counts, so here’s why: That message is both a fake and an outright fraud. Don’t give the phishers any of your personal information at all. Spam that scam message straight into oblivion right away. This is one lottery you’ll never win because it’s “bogus.”

    Another thing, the phishers telling you to “keep this lottery information confidential” would indicate to you not to say anything about this to anybody until they have finished scamming you.

  7. JillPinky says:

    This is a SCAM. If you click on the below link this site confirms various email scams hitting the internet and provides an online form for the reporting of such, with links for your own country.
    http://www.consumerfraudreporting.org/lotteryscam_Yahoo.php
    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yoo2.phpahoo/...
    Unscrupulous thieves have sent you this email and they are trying to part you from your hard earned cash. They will often ask you to call a premium rate number and keep you holding on whilst you rack up a huge phone bill. They are then paid a large proportion of this phone bill. They may ask you to divulge personal information about yourself or ask for your bank or credit card details. Do not divulge any such information under any circumstances. It is surprising how many innocent victims have been duped by these types of emails. Please remember the thieves who send them are very clever and extremely convincing. I suggest you delete the email and send it into cyberspace.
    Check out these sites for further information :
    http://www.scambusters.com
    http://www.hoax-slayer.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thomas Associates – Staffing and Recruiting :: Uncategorized :: This is something I received in my mail this morning? It’s to hard to believe that it’s for real. So is it?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.